Merge Layers is a preset from the Retouching Bundle. As the name implies, you can use it to group layers either in a smart object or as a new layer. You can also apply a filter directly to the new layer.
|All visible layers will be merged into one new layer. The original layers are preserved.
|Current and below
|The currently selected layer and all layers below will be merged into a new layer. Original layers are preserved.
|All layers are reduced to the background layer. Original layers get lost.
|All selected layers are merged into a new layer. Original layers are preserved.
For all methods, except Flatten Image, there is the option to group layers in a smart object. Caution: the smart object contains one merged layer only, not all selected layers.
You can define the name and color for the layer.
Blending mode and opacity
You could define both blend mode and opacity for the new layer.
You can assign a layer mask to the new layer.
Layer masks are white by default, thus showing the layer’s content. If you want to hide the content, for the time being, you can invert the mask (black).
For the new layer, all options provided by Photoshop are available to you to protect or lock the layer.
- Artboard Autonest
The layer will be placed in a group if this option is active.
Group name & color
You can define the name and color of the group.
After the layer has been created, you can optionally apply a filter to the layer. You can choose from the following filters, whose dialog opens immediately after creating the layer:
- Filter Gallery
- Camera Raw Filter
- Lens Correction